Stuccoed regency villa built on Thorn Hill in 1821. Built by Alderman Richard Leaper (1759-1838) for Long Eaton mill pioneer Colonel John Trowell. Later became a residence for Oswald Mosley's aunts before being taken over by the adjacent Derby Lunatic Asylum. The NHS are currently owning the house and its fate hangs in the balance. (1)
Two storey brick house and rendered in Roman Cement, grooved to resemble ashlar. The interior was relatively plain, partially following local traditions of such residences. The main staircase ran from the hall at right angles, a top-lit dog-leg, turning in an apse on the north side. The house was demolished, unlisted in 2006 to make way for a new housing development. (2)
Bibliographic reference: Craven, M. 1996. The Illustrated History of Derby Suburbs. p 36.
Article in serial: Craven M. 2013. 'Great Taste and Much Experience in Building: Richard Leaper, Amateur Architect', Derbyshire Archaeological Journal. Vol. 133, pages 189-212.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 33031 35886 (32m by 24m)
DERBY, DERBY, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
External Links (0)
Record last edited
Dec 6 2021 4:27PM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.