Skip to main content

Monument record MDR11025 - LDECR Railway Station Buildings and Tunnel Entrance, Station Road, Clowne

Type and Period (2)

Protected Status/Designation

  • None recorded

Full Description

Railway Station Buildings and Tunnel Entrance. Former booking hall and station house of the LDECR station on the Langwith Junction-Beighton line, opened to Clowne on March 8 1897: brick with slate roofs, but the station booking hall has been rendered and painted white. The buildings are located above the partly blocked-off tunnel that took the line under Clowne High Street. The line of the railway to the east is still discernible as a walkway (Clowne Linear Trail). (1) Railway line and buildings not shown on 1st ed. OS 25", but shown on 2nd and 3rd eds OS 25". The platforms and buildings mapped in the centre of the platforms are no longer present. The north-easterly of the two buildings was in the process of extension/reconstruction when visited in 2007. (2)

Sources/Archives (2)

  • <1> Bibliographic reference: Fowkes, D. 2000. Derbyshire Industrial Archaeology. Part V. North East Derbyshire. p 8.
  • <2> Personal Observation: Brown, J. Observation based on personal experience, map evidence, site visit etc..



Grid reference Centred SK 49285 75678 (141m by 47m)

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (0)

External Links (0)

Record last edited

Jul 11 2022 11:49AM

Comments and Feedback

Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.