Doe Hill Station. SK419602. Typical single storey booking hall and offices of the former Doe Hill Station on the Erewash Valley main line of 1862; brick with slate roof. It closed slightly in advance of the Beeching era. Station house at SK421603. (1)
Doe Hill Station buildings and Station House must be early 20th century as they are first shown on the 3rd ed OS 25". On 1st and 2nd eds OS 25" the station building (SMR14017) are located adjacent to the east side of the railway track, south of the current Station House and Cottages; the 3rd ed. OS 25" shows that these were demolished when the track was widened. (2)
Bibliographic reference: Fowkes, D. 2000. Derbyshire Industrial Archaeology. Part V. North East Derbyshire. p 13.
Personal Observation: Brown, J. Observation based on personal experience, map evidence, site visit etc..
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 41977 60214 (167m by 25m)
TIBSHELF, BOLSOVER, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
External Links (0)
Record last edited
Feb 22 2011 4:29PM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.