Monument record MDR12005 - Treak Cliff Mine, Castleton

Type and Period (1)

  • (Roman to Post Medieval - 43 AD? to 1900 AD)

Protected Status/Designation

  • None recorded

Full Description

An 18th century or possibly earlier lead mine and Blue John mine. The cavern is now a show cave. (1) From the village, Treak Cliff Hill rises steeply to some 450ft (136.4m) high, and is about two-thirds of a mile in length by roughly the same dimensions wide. The cavern complex can be divided into two areas, the 'Older Series' and the 'New Series'. When the first Blue John mine was established in the mid-18th century it was called Millers Mine, presumably taking its name from the man who first discovered the veins of the rich mineral deposit (Fluorspar). This has since become known as Treak Cliff Cavern and, by 1765, there were 16 separate Blue John mines opened on this hillside. There are around 40 veins (different patterns of colour-banding ranging from deep blue-black, through various shades of purple and blue, to pure white) of Blue John, creating unique pieces of jewellery, ornaments, bowls and vases. One of the finest veins in Treak Cliff is still referred to as 'Millers Vein'.

Sources/Archives (2)

  • <1> Personal Observation: Shakarian, J (ARS). Personal observation, map evidence, field visit etc..
  • <2> *Internet Web Site:



Grid reference Centred SK 1360 8314 (43m by 36m)

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (0)

External Links (0)

Record last edited

Feb 6 2013 11:14AM

Comments and Feedback

Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.