Building record MDR12266 - Former Congregational Chapel, A57, Brookfield

Type and Period (1)

Protected Status/Designation

  • None recorded

Full Description

In 1849 members of the Independent Churches at Glossop, Charlesworth and Tintwistle convened a meeting at the home of Samuel Shepley (owner of a mill at Brookfield). It was decided to rent the Chapel at Mottram. In 1852, the operations of Woolley Bridge Mission were also transferred to Brookfield. The adjacent school house was built in 1852 on grounds owned by Samuel Shepley (see SMR 33300). The foundation stone for the Chapel was laid by his son, William Shepley (the then mill owner) in November 1883. The unique relationship between the Shepley family and the Chapel continued for over a century, ending with the death of Mrs Harriet Cuthbert in 1960. In 1967 it was decided to sell the Chapel building and convert part of the adjacent schoolroom into a Chapel, which was opened in 1972 (see SMR 33300 for more details). This building was sold in 1971 and is now used as a retail DIY premises [2009]. (1)

Sources/Archives (1)

  • <1> *Internet Web Site: Glossop Heritage Trust. Glossopdale Churches and Chapels. Web page last updated 24/10/2009.



Grid reference Centred SK 0118 9525 (27m by 23m)

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (0)

External Links (0)

Record last edited

Nov 22 2017 4:50PM

Comments and Feedback

Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.