Building was sold by the church in the 1980s and a new vicarage was built in the grounds. The new owner restored the outside and annexed the barn to the house. The house is Georgian to 1809, and built on the site of Grange House, demolished in 1758. Red brick building with stone mouldings. Record compiled 3/4/1994. (1)
Behind ornate gates is the former rectory, known as 'The Vicarage' until the formation of the Team Ministry in 1976. It was built in 1809 by the new incumbent Rev. William Spencer. To the west of the house is an 18th century barn. This appears to be the only structure remaining of 'Grange House' buildings (also known as 'Parsonage House') which was a former home of the Fanshawe family. The Fanshawes had become lay rectors in the 16th century. It is now a private house. A new rectory has been built in the grounds. (2)
Archive: Derbyshire County Council. Sites and monuments within Dronfield.
Bibliographic reference: Old Dronfield Society. 2009. Explore Dronfield: Heritage Trail No. 1 Dronfield Old Town.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 3522 7847 (69m by 77m)
DRONFIELD, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (1)
Please contact the HER for details.
External Links (0)
Record last edited
May 8 2015 1:30PM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.