Built for Ralph Burton, Lord of the Manor and is first recorded in 1710. The front windows are early sash cords but some of the original mullioned and transomed windows survive at the rear. The Rotheram Cecil family lived here until the mid 1930s when it was purchased by Dr. H B Fletcher and presented to the Dronfield Urban District Council for offices. In 1967, it was converted to a public library. Little remains of the interior except for the staircase near the rear entrance. The outline of the front garden survives with two original cast-iron vases standing on either side of the front door. The stalls for horses in the stable block are still at the back of the house. (1)
Bibliographic reference: Old Dronfield Society. 2009. Explore Dronfield: Heritage Trail No. 1 Dronfield Old Town.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 3500 7847 (22m by 25m)
DRONFIELD, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
External Links (0)
Record last edited
May 7 2015 3:32PM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.