The cottage has also been known as the Old Manor House and The Armoury. These names suggest possible earlier uses. At one time the building was one large farmhouse and around 1910 it was converted into three dwellings. The west wing, which extended up to the roadside wall bordering High Street, was demolished to make way for the three new villas. Only the north wing remained, approached through what came to be known as Talbot's Yard. For many years the cottage was used by the town council for storing building materials and in the 1960s became derelict. It was restored in the 1970s. Early 17th century mullions and dripstones can be seen. (1)
Two storeys, ashlar. Dip mounds over groud floor windows. Projecting part with sloping roof to right. Stone slates. Gabled ends with windows and coping. Perhaps originally part of the Manor House. Built circa 1490 to 1510. Record compiled 27/4/1994. (2)
Bibliographic reference: Old Dronfield Society. 2009. Explore Dronfield: Heritage Trail No. 1 Dronfield Old Town.
Archive: Derbyshire County Council. Sites and monuments within Dronfield.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 3502 7851 (13m by 21m)
DRONFIELD, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (1)
Please contact the HER for details.
External Links (0)
Record last edited
May 8 2015 1:21PM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.