Early 17th century, with 19th century alterations. Coursed coal measures sandstone with ashlar dressings, quoins, coped gables, with moulded kneelers and a stone slated roof. L-plan house. South elevation; two storeys and attics, three bays with central doorway and moulded stone surround, which has a projecting moulded keyblock beneath the remnants of a continuous dripmould which steps up over the doorway. Flanking the door are 19th century single storey canted bay windows, with hipped leaded roofs. Above, first floor plain sash windows within flush stone frames. Gabled attic dormer to centre bay with 20th century casement in 17th century surround beneath dripmould. Rear and side elevations retain 17th century windows, some chamfer mullioned, beneath dripmoulds. (1)
This 17th century house stands behind high stone walls. The Victorian bay windows were added in 1861 soon after Jarvis Smedley and his family moved here. Dronfield's first stationmaster, George Poplar, lived here after he married Emily Smedley in 1872. The family remained in The Cottage until 1913. The deeds of The Cottage go bck to 1622. It is reputed to have once been owned by Lord Byron and also used as a dame school. (2)
Listed Building File: Historic England. 2011. The National Heritage List for England.
Bibliographic reference: Old Dronfield Society. 2009. Explore Dronfield: Heritage Trail No. 1 Dronfield Old Town.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 3507 7851 (11m by 15m)
DRONFIELD, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
External Links (0)
Record last edited
May 8 2015 8:46AM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.