These are dated to 1877 and named after Thomas Taylor the blacksmith who died in 1681 and whose smithy stood on the corner. He endowed a charity for apprentices, which is still in existence today. The present buildings were constructed in the period of prosperity and expansion after the coming of the railway in 1870. The corner shop was formerly Shentall's high class grocers. Leading to the rooms above the shops is an elegant doorway and staircase. Above the doorway is written 'Town Hall'. A Magistrates court was held there, also a Mechanics' Institute, public meetings and dances. (1)
Bibliographic reference: Old Dronfield Society. 2009. Explore Dronfield: Heritage Trail No. 1 Dronfield Old Town.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 3516 7848 (19m by 10m)
DRONFIELD, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
External Links (0)
Record last edited
May 8 2015 10:43AM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.