Opened in 1870 for the Midland Railway. Construction was difficult so the plans of the 1840s were delayed but when it finally arrived it brought increased prosperity to Dronfield and its industries. The station is on the site of a milldam for a forge and tilt hammer; most of the small riverside industries had by then disappeared. George Poplar was the station master for 28 years; he so impressed his bosses that he gained a job at 24, getting the poistion in 1870. The station closed in 1966 and the buildings were demolished. The station reopened in the early 1980s with a very limited service. This changed in December 2008 with the introduction of an hourly service between Leeds and Nottingham. (1)
Bibliographic reference: Old Dronfield Society. 2009. Explore Dronfield, Drone Valley Heritage Trail No. 2.
Find a placename, postcode or grid reference
The map is limited to 3000 records per layer so not all records are being displayed for this area. Zoom in to see more.
Centred SK 3545 7841 (136m by 88m)
DRONFIELD, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
External Links (0)
Record last edited
May 18 2015 1:45PM
Comments and Feedback
Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.