Monument record MDR9882 - Dale Colliery (remains of), Killamarsh

Type and Period (1)

  • (Post Medieval - 1540 AD to 1900 AD)

Protected Status/Designation

  • None recorded

Full Description

Two shafts and several buildings are shown at The Dale on the OS map of c. 1880, connected via a tramway with the Chesterfield Canal. (1) The colliery had gone out of use by 1898, being shown as 'Old Shafts' on the OS map of that date. (2) A series of spoil heaps covered by rough woodland to the east of Dale Road indicates the sites of small collieries continuing to the site of Highmoor Colliery north of High Lane. The path follows the line of a tramway that formerly linked the pits to High Lane. (3)

Sources/Archives (3)

  • <1> Map: Ordnance Survey (OS). 1882. OS County Series, 1st edition, scale 1:2500 (c. 25" to one mile). Sheet XIII.14.
  • <2> Map: Ordnance Survey (OS). 1896-1900. OS County Series, 2nd edition (1st revision), scale 1:2500 (c. 25" to one mile). Sheet XIII.14, 1898.
  • <3> Personal Observation: Brown, J. Observation based on personal experience, map evidence, site visit etc..

Map

Location

Grid reference SK 46484 80623 (point)
Civil Parish KILLAMARSH, NORTH EAST DERBYSHIRE, DERBYSHIRE

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (0)

External Links (0)

Record last edited

Jul 4 2016 4:09PM

Comments and Feedback

Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.